26 – SUPPLIES IN RED ON ROBOT / IN CONTAINER

Q:  Can supplies/people/pets/water count in a scoring zone if they’re on the robot or in a container and not touching the mat?
A:  Please see Rules 31, 37, and 38.

Rule 31:  To determine if an object is “in” a scoring zone, the referee will look at:
1) the object.
2) the mat.

If the object crosses the line, even *barely, it’s “in.”  The presence or absence of the robot or a container is irrelevant.  Practical example:  If the FRONT of your robot is in RED but the cargo is at the BACK of the robot, the cargo doesn’t score.  The picture at the bottom of Page 23 applies anywhere.
37 & 38:  When “in” is the requirement (as with these objects), touching the mat is not needed.

*(Exception:  For the Obstacles mission, barely isn’t good enough.)